The Follow Up. Something to Try.

by ahoylebp

In my last post I discussed a few issues within the world of marijuana smoking and alcohol drinking. Now, to help with some of those issues, I found a couple of posts that suggest some interesting tips and solutions.

Lenny with Hail Mary Jane helps with the drug of choice being marijuana, and Nathalie Vassallo with the Huffington Post, “What I Learned From ‘Sober October’“, talks about alcohol.

Lenny tells of “10 Ways to Conserve Your Weed“. And I found it interesting because number one is one of which I just recently discovered, and talked about in my last post.

Number one is “save your roaches”. When I experienced people scrambling for the roaches to make a blunt, I saw it as desperation. However, I suppose if the saving of roaches is done with means of conservation, and not in a way where, “oh we’re out of weed, so let’s find some around the house”, then fine.

I found number two to be particularly relatable and very useful, and able to be applied to many other things, and that is “cut off your scavenger friends”. Lenny wrote, “I find that when you share you develop good weed karma and when you don’t have any, often people will come through for you.” This is true, but it is also true that always trying to make sure everyone else is good will put you in the hole. [I experienced this freshman year when I would want to drink, but I didn’t want to drink by myself — so I would make sure to get enough for everyone.]

One of his best suggestions is to “stop smoking for a while”. Hell, stop smoking period, I say! But you know, “a while” will do.

Now, those are just three of his suggests, obviously, so be sure to check his post out for the rest, “10 Ways to Conserve Your Weed“.

As for Nathalie Vassallo and “What I Learned From ‘Sober October’“, she provides a nice experience of hers, giving good insight into the world of drinking and socialization.

Nathalie and her girlfriend recognized the excessive drinking habits, constant need to drink during social times, and what not. So, they decided to participate in “Sober October”.

“I had trouble recalling the last day I passed on a glass of wine or a cocktail. Also, my tolerance had gotten fairly high, and I could easily drink an entire tax return in one summer. So, as one can imagine, the expectation was for a difficult month.” – Nathalie Vassallo.

She details the struggle in the beginning, her craving for sugar, the craving that didn’t last long. She mentions that “having someone with you for the ride makes a huge difference”. This is a good point. When trying to make a change, especially a change such as this, it is harder to make that change if you are still surrounded with that which you are trying to rid yourself of. “It is much easier to toast with seltzer if with a sober companion.”

Nathalie wrote, “…it was my girlfriend’s observation on contemporary social customs that compelled me to write. To her, the most relevant of the changes was the fact that she had not been socializing with her friends nearly as much since the beginning of our sobriety project.”

That’s something. Is it the inability to resist? Not wanting to be tempted? Wanting to get away from that world as a whole? Do they not want the sober one around? Or is it the sober one’s decision to stay away?

“There is nothing wrong with going out for drinks with friends. The issue is when that becomes the only method to socialize.” – Nathalie Vassallo.

And that’s a huge point.

A few drinks every now and again to feel that special way, but that way isn’t the only way, and it’s not the best way. Not being able to go out and be social without drinking, not good.

Get high every now and then, go ahead. Not being able to go out and be social without smoking, not good. And desperation is something in itself, but going broke to smoke a blunt is… ridiculous.

